Ricotta Scrambled Eggs with Grilled Mushrooms

20140430-112911.jpg

I love a good breakfast. Even when I was working full time, hubby and I tried to have breakfasts together.

There are some mixed studies and research about breakfasts. The more common ones encouraged us to have breakfasts to ‘kickstart metabolism’ and to stablise blood sugar after not having food through the night. Others have commented that intermittent fasting and missing breakfasts isn’t too big a deal.

Fasting is another topic altogether. I have done it before and usually do it post dinner till lunch time the next day. However, personally, I think all it did was to teach me to learn what are hunger pangs vrs boredom or emotional eating. Fitness or fat loss goals were impacted minimally. I believe you have to experiment and learn about your body rather than to depend on ‘quick fixes’ or thinking there is a one size fits all approach.

Hence, I figured I’m going back to breakfasts. You see, food to me is more than nutrition. I enjoy sitting at the table with my baby boy, and eating with him.

I made scrambled eggs with ricotta cheese as the hubby was working from home today. I had left over ricotta cheese in the fridge plus I was very hungry following our 100 thrusters workout the night before. Ricotta and eggs are perfect because they give a creamy texture without heaviness of cream. Scrambled eggs took me 5 mins to whipped up and they were enjoyed by the whole family.

The key to good scrambled eggs is to use a hot pan and keep an eye on it. Always scrambled eggs inwards to the centre. You can remove the pan from heat and keep scrambling it. That way, you won’t end up with over cooked scrambled eggs. Also try not to add salt while cooking. I find that that the texture is creamier if salt is added last.i like it soft and fluffy.

Ricotta Scrambled Eggs with Grilled Mushrooms (serves 2.5. 2 adults and one baby!)
4 eggs
1/4 cup ricotta cheese
Chives

Assorted Mushrooms

Pre heat pan. Add a tsp of coconut oil or a little butter. Beat eggs and cheese. Pour eggs over and let it sit for a min. You can preheat the next pan to grill mushrooms then.

Scrambled eggs inwards, letting it rest for 20 seconds and scrambling again. Fold in chives. Remove from heat once eggs starts to be firm. Cook till your liking and dish on plate. Sprinkle salt and pepper to season.

Finish off by grilling mushrooms for 3 mins.

Leave a Reply

